Dual boot install Fedora Ubuntu, with just one EFI

Just a quick reminder for myself in case it happen again one day,

Some time ago, I had to install Fedora and Ubuntu in dualBoot on my computer. It happened that one had to be EFI while the other hadn’t (don’t really remember why) and I couldn’t boot on both system after the dual booting. So here is the strategy I used to solve the no boot (I wish I could give the error I had but I can’t) :

  • First install Ubuntu.
  • Second install Fedora which was the EFI one for me.
  • Then, in fedora, go to /boot/efi/EFI/fedora.
  • Use nane grub.cfg. It says, “Do not modify this” but sometime you got to do some extrem things.
  • go to the part in the file that look like :
menuentry 'Ubuntu 14.04.2 LTS (14.04) (on /dev/sda4)' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os$
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod ext2
        set root='hd0,gpt4'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt4 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt4 --h$
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b7fe388d-d737-4244-abcb-035dd04d5f2c
        fi
        linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.13.0-49-generic root=UUID=b7fe388d-d737-4244-abcb-035dd04d5f2$
        initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.13.0-49-generic
}

And change every initrd and linux for initdrefi and linuxefi.

  • Now booting on Ubuntu from the Fedora grub should work.

I just don’t know exactly what we did and I read this solution for a mac user and I can’t find the article again.

ATTENTION : THIS WAS A LAST RESORT THING I DID. You should try everything you can think of before this. It says do not change this file on top of the file so I don’t want to be held responsible if it breaks your computer 😉

Leave a Reply

